The Search for Original Christianity

I left the evangelical movement for good in 2008, though a great number of loved ones still reside in their churches.  I grant to each person the freedom to determine what they believe is the truth.  Since the time of my departure I have been on a mission.  I want to get back to ground zero.  I want to find the original teachings of Christ and His apostles.  I am no longer interested in debates over eternal security, substitutionary atonement, and the rapture.  These are all doctrines invented in the centuries since the Reformation and, as far as I’m concerned, are non-issues.  I am interested to know what the early church, especially those just after the apostles passed away, thought about the cross, the divinity of Christ, the nature of the gospel, the purpose of the sacraments, and its understanding of life in the age to come.  My research of the past three years has netted what is to me overwhelming evidence of the pervasive belief in universalism among the early Christians, attested to from the mouths of even Augustine and Jerome.  I am starting to see my faith in a whole new way.  I feel like I’m connecting with what the Spirit of Jesus was doing among the early disciples in what was called “The Way.”  It’s been so refreshing over the past months to dig in and find the true essence of the gospel being about loving one’s neighbor and the nature of salvation not being about getting out of literal hellfire for eternity, but about being transformed into a person of love like God the Father.  Those who live lives full of love for neighbor enter the kingdom in the golden age to come after this one while those who live selfishly and destructively will enter an age of chastisement meant to purge them of self and transform them into Godly men and women.  I’ve purchased a large volume set of the writings of the early church fathers and I intend to start reading a little bit every few days to get a feel for what was going on in the early second to mid fourth centuries.  As I have searched, I have found Eastern Orthodox Christianity to be a great resource of early Christian thinking and, except for a few hang ups I have with that church’s way of doing things, I am seriously considering what it would look like to be an Orthodox Christian.  If you are frustrated with the seeming powerlessness of today’s shallow consumer Christianity and are looking for something to refresh your faith, I invite you to join the search with me for original Christianity.

2 thoughts on “The Search for Original Christianity

  1. Greetings ChristianIndependent:
    Why not look into the form of Christianity that is most Eastern, Semitic and Biblical? Have you looked into the faith of the Church of the East?

    • Bishop, sorry for the late reply. I’m a doctoral student and that committment has not allowed me to write on here as often as I would like. When you talk about the “eastern, semitic, and biblical” faith and the “Church of the East,” what exactly do you mean. If you mean the Eastern Orthodox Church, then yes, I have. I think they’re the closest to the original, but I feel that maybe if I could put that in a percentage form I would say like 60%-70%. I’m still digging. I’ve suspended by judgment of Christianity until I feel like I grasp the original accurately. I’ve recently heard some great arguments on preterism and Eschatology that seems to clear up some huge questions I had regarding the nature of prophesy, though I’m still sifting through it. I’d like to get your thoughts. If I don’t hear from you on here, then I’ll email you at the address you provided. Thanks, Thomas.

Leave a Reply

